eProcurement Toolkit

The lineGuides

Which procurement certifications exist, and how do you choose one?

Short answer

The main procurement certifications are CIPS’s qualifications leading to MCIPS, ISM’s CPSM, and, for the public sector, UPPCC’s CPPB and CPPO and NIGP’s NIGP-CPP; they differ in exams, experience and renewal.

Cite this answereProcurement Toolkit, “Which procurement certifications exist, and how do you choose one?”, updated 25 Oct 2026, eprocurementtoolkit.org/guide/procurement-certification

Key takeaways

  • A procurement certification is a credential from a professional body: you pass its exams, prove the experience it asks for, and keep it alive with continuing education.
  • CIPS, based in the UK, offers qualifications from Level 2 to Level 6 that lead to MCIPS; ISM, based in the US, awards the CPSM across industries; UPPCC and NIGP certify public procurement staff in North America.
  • Government buyers have their own routes: FAC-C (Professional) for contracting staff in US federal agencies other than the Department of Defense, and a free practitioner certificate for UK contracting authorities under the Procurement Act 2023.
  • No body publishes a ranking, and none is “the best”. Choose by sector, country, career stage and what employers in your target jobs ask for.
  • Check eligibility before paying: most credentials ask for years of experience, some for a degree or training hours, and every one needs renewal hours.

What is a procurement certification?

A procurement certification is a professional credential that shows you meet a body’s standard for purchasing and supply work. You earn it by passing exams set by a certifying body such as CIPS, ISM or UPPCC, and often by proving years of experience. You keep it by recording continuing education and renewing it every few years.

Four kinds of paper are often mixed up, and they prove different things:

Certification
A credential awarded after exams and checks of experience, valid for a fixed period and renewed with continuing education. Examples: CPSM, CPPB, NIGP-CPP.
Qualification
A course of study with exams, graded at a level, that does not expire. The CIPS diplomas are qualifications; the professional status they lead to, MCIPS, is kept with membership and, for Chartered status, yearly CPD.
Certificate of completion
Proof that you attended or finished a course. It shows training, not tested competence.
Product certification
A software publisher’s exam on its own product, such as SAP’s. It proves you can configure or run that system, not that you know procurement in general.

A common situation: a buyer at a state-owned company in Kenya and a buyer at a county government in Ohio both search for “procurement certification”. The CIPS diplomas, ISM’s CPSM and UPPCC’s CPPB all answer that search, but they are built for different jobs, in different countries and sectors. The right credential depends first on where and for whom you buy.

Which procurement certifications are there, and how do they compare?

The table lists the credentials most often asked for, with the facts each body publishes. Fees change; where a body does not publish its fee on the page we read, the table says so.

Main procurement certifications, from each body’s own pages and handbooks, read 2026-10-25: cips.org, the ISM Certification Handbook (August 2026), uppcc.org, nigp.org, fai.gov and gov.uk.
Credential and bodyAimed atEntry requirementsAssessmentPublished fees (USD unless stated)Renewal
CIPS Level 4 to 6 diplomas, then MCIPS (Chartered Institute of Procurement & Supply)Procurement staff worldwide, from Level 4 with 2+ years of business experienceLevel 4 is the highest entry point; Levels 2 and 3 suit beginnersComputer-based exams per module: 8 modules at Level 4, 8 at Level 5, 7 at Level 6Not stated on the qualification pagesMCIPS Chartered: 30 hours of CPD in 12 months and the CIPS ethics test
CPSM, Certified Professional in Supply Management (Institute for Supply Management)Supply chain professionals in any industry3 years of full-time professional experience with a bachelor’s degree, or 5 years without3 exams: 165 questions in 180 minutes, then two of 150 questions in 165 minutesNot in the handbook; member and non-member rates differEvery 3 years, 60 continuing education hours
APSM, Associate Professional in Supply Management (ISM)People new to the professionNone beyond passing the exam1 exam: Supply Management Core, 180 questions in 180 minutesNot in the handbookValid 5 years, no renewal; counts towards the CPSM
CPPB, Certified Professional Public Buyer (Universal Public Procurement Certification Council)Public buyers in non-management roles3 years of experience with a 2-year post-secondary diploma, or 5 years without; 72 hours of training; half the experience in the public sector1 exam: 180 multiple-choice questions in 3.5 hours$450 application ($300 for partner members), $335 examEvery 5 years
CPPO, Certified Public Procurement Officer (UPPCC)Public procurement managers and supervisorsBachelor’s degree, 5 years of experience including 3 managing, 96 hours of training; or an active CPPB and 10 years including 6 managing1 exam: 180 multiple-choice questions in 3.5 hours$450 application ($300 for partner members), $335 examEvery 5 years
NIGP-CPP, Certified Procurement Professional (NIGP: The Institute for Public Procurement)Mid- to senior-level public procurement leadersOne of five experience pathways; no training prerequisite2 exam modules (C and D since February 2026), within 2 years of approval$175 application, plus a testing fee per moduleEvery 3 years, 36 contact hours
FAC-C (Professional) (US Federal Acquisition Institute)Contracting staff in US federal executive agencies other than the Department of Defense5 contracting courses and 12 months of contracting experienceCON 3990V: 150 questions, closed book, 70% to passNot stated on the FAI page80 continuous learning points every 2 years
Practitioner certificate, Procurement Act 2023 (UK Cabinet Office)Commercial staff in UK contracting authoritiesWork for a contracting authoritySelf-guided e-learning, about 10 one-hour modulesFree at the point of deliveryNone stated

The credentials do not compete for the same reader: the sector and country you work in narrow the choice to one or two before cost and effort matter.

Fees, exam windows and rules change. Check the body’s own page on the day you apply; the figures above were read on 25 October 2026.

How do CIPS qualifications and MCIPS work?

The Chartered Institute of Procurement & Supply (CIPS) offers five qualifications. Levels 2 and 3 are certificates in procurement and supply operations, for people starting out or already in operational roles. Level 4 (Diploma), Level 5 (Advanced Diploma) and Level 6 (Professional Diploma) form the route to MCIPS, the institute’s professional membership grade. CIPS calls Level 4 the highest entry point and suggests it for people with two or more years of business experience.

  • Level 2: five core modules worth 18 credits, about 180 hours in total, six exam opportunities a year, and up to 12 months to complete.
  • Level 4: eight compulsory modules worth 60 credits, from defining business need and commercial contracting to negotiation and supplier relationships. CIPS suggests allowing 12 months, with five exam opportunities a year.
  • Level 5: five core modules and three electives, 60 credits. One elective is Category Management.
  • Level 6: four core modules and three electives, 60 credits, over 12 to 15 months. Passing it makes you eligible to apply for MCIPS.

CIPS counts 10 hours of study per credit, so a 6-credit module means about 60 hours of study and the exam. Every module is assessed by a computer-based exam, with essay-style constructed response questions or objective response questions where you choose the right answer. You can study alone, with CIPS’s online course or at an approved study centre, and in some countries sit the exam remotely under a remote invigilator. Senior professionals can also reach MCIPS through an experience-based route instead of exams.

MCIPS holders who are current members can use “MCIPS Chartered” if they record 30 hours of continuing professional development (CPD) in the last 12 months and hold the CIPS Ethical Procurement and Supply certificate, which comes from an online course and test.

What are ISM’s CPSM, APSM and the former C.P.M.?

The Institute for Supply Management (ISM), based in the United States, awards the CPSM (Certified Professional in Supply Management). You pass three exams in any order: Supply Management Core, Supply Management Integration and Supply Management Leadership. The experience rule is three years of full-time, professional supply chain work with a bachelor’s degree, or five years without one. ISM’s handbook says “professional” means a role with decision-making authority, not clerical or support work, and that you do not need to be a manager.

Each passed exam stays valid for four years, so you can spread them out. The CPSM itself lasts three years and is renewed with 60 continuing education hours, at least two-thirds of them educational. ISM delivers the exams at Pearson test centres, online through Pearson’s OnVUE service, or on site for groups of five or more, and the CPSM exams are offered in English, Chinese, Japanese, Spanish and Korean.

For newcomers, the APSM (Associate Professional in Supply Management) needs only the Supply Management Core exam. It lasts five years and cannot be renewed; instead, the holder can take the two remaining CPSM exams once the experience rule is met. ISM also offers the CPSD for supplier diversity.

Many people still search for the “CPM certification”. The C.P.M. (Certified Purchasing Manager) is ISM’s older credential. ISM’s current handbook still lists how existing holders renew it, every five years with 84 hours, but describes no exam to earn it, and says a holder whose C.P.M. lapses past the grace period cannot retest. A newcomer looking for the ISM credential today takes the CPSM.

Which certifications exist for public and government procurement?

Public procurement has its own certifications because the rules differ: public buyers follow procurement law, publish notices and must justify every award. In North America two bodies are widely known, and national governments run their own programmes.

The Universal Public Procurement Certification Council (UPPCC) awards two credentials. The CPPB (Certified Professional Public Buyer) is for buyers in public bodies who are not managers. The CPPO (Certified Public Procurement Officer) is for people who lead a procurement team or manage at least one key part of the cycle, such as contracting. For both, at least half the years of experience must be in the public sector, and training hours must have been completed in the last 10 years. Each exam has 180 multiple-choice questions to answer in three and a half hours, at a Prometric test centre, in two windows a year: 1–15 May and 17–31 October. Both credentials are renewed every five years.

NIGP, The Institute for Public Procurement, awards the NIGP-CPP (Certified Procurement Professional), aimed at mid- to senior-level public procurement leaders. It has no training prerequisite. Once your application is approved you have two years to pass the exam modules, with four testing windows a year. New candidates sit Modules C and D, tested since February 2026; candidates still on the older Modules A and B must pass them by the final window in November 2026. Recertification needs 36 contact hours in each three-year cycle.

Governments certify their own staff too. In US federal executive agencies other than the Department of Defense, contracting staff hold the FAC-C (Professional), run by the Federal Acquisition Institute: five contracting courses, 12 months of experience, a 150-question closed-book exam with a 70% pass mark, then 80 continuous learning points every two years. The Department of Defense has its own contracting certification, which the institute treats as equivalent. In the UK, the Cabinet Office’s learning programme for the Procurement Act 2023 includes self-guided e-learning for staff of contracting authorities that leads to a practitioner certificate. Other countries run similar schemes through their public procurement authority; check yours before choosing a private credential. A guide to public procurement itself is in preparation.

Is there a free or fully online procurement certification?

Most recognised procurement certifications charge fees for applications, exams or study material. The clearest free case is the UK government’s Procurement Act 2023 programme, which the Cabinet Office describes as “available free at the point of delivery”: short on-demand presentations for anyone, and the e-learning that leads to the practitioner certificate for staff of contracting authorities. CIPS also offers free sample exam questions and marker reports, which help you prepare but are not a credential. A free online course from a training website can teach a lot, but it is a certificate of completion, not a certification.

On online exams, the bodies differ. ISM offers its exams online through Pearson OnVUE. CIPS offers remote invigilated exams in some countries, alongside test centres. UPPCC’s exams are taken at Prometric test centres. If you cannot travel to a centre, check the delivery options before you pay the application fee.

Are there sustainable, IT or SAP procurement certifications?

For sustainable procurement, the international standard ISO 20400:2017 gives guidance on how to buy sustainably, but it is guidance, not a standard you can be certified against. Sustainability appears instead inside the general qualifications: the CIPS Level 4 Diploma includes a module on ethical and responsible sourcing, and Level 6 has an elective on environmental, social and governance (ESG) principles, available from the March 2026 exam series.

IT procurement and SAP procurement certifications are mostly product certifications. SAP, for example, runs an exam for consultants on sourcing and procurement in SAP S/4HANA Cloud Private Edition (exam code C_TS452). Such an exam shows that you can configure and use one system; it does not replace a procurement credential.

Disclosure: the author works as an Ivalua consultant. The products named here are described from their publishers’ public documentation, not from a test.

Where can you take category management courses and strategic sourcing training?

Category management is the practice of managing spend by groups of similar purchases, such as IT, travel or packaging, each with its own strategy and owner; it is explained in what is category management. Few bodies certify it on its own. It is usually a module inside a wider credential:

  • CIPS Level 5 Advanced Diploma: an elective module called Category Management, assessed by exam like the other modules.
  • ISM: the APSM and the CPSM’s Core exam list category management among the competencies tested, together with sourcing, negotiation, contracts and supplier relationships. The Core exam also tests tasks such as conducting spend analysis to set category strategies.
  • Strategic sourcing is tested the same way: the CPSM Core exam includes implementing strategic sourcing plans, and the CIPS diplomas cover sourcing across several modules. What strategic sourcing involves is set out in strategic sourcing.

Short category management courses from consultancies and training firms are common. Before you pay for one, check who sets its assessment and whether the hours count towards the renewal of the credential you already hold, such as CIPS CPD hours, ISM continuing education hours or UPPCC contact hours.

How do you choose the right procurement certification?

“Best procurement certification” lists rank credentials that are built for different readers. Ask five questions in this order instead:

  1. Where do you work, and for whom? A US federal agency other than the Department of Defense: FAC-C (Professional). A public body in North America: UPPCC or NIGP. A UK contracting authority: the free practitioner certificate first, then a professional qualification. Elsewhere, compare CIPS, whose qualifications are formally recognised in the UK and, CIPS says, in a growing number of other countries, with ISM, whose CPSM exams are offered in five languages.
  2. What do job adverts in your target role ask for? Read ten adverts for the job you want next and count the credentials named. That count matters more than any ranking.
  3. Are you eligible today? Count your years of experience, the share in the public sector if relevant, your degree and your training hours against the body’s rules.
  4. How much time can you give? A CIPS diploma level takes about a year; the CPSM is three exams that stay valid for four years; the UPPCC exams are a single sitting.
  5. Can you keep it? Every credential needs renewal hours: 30 a year for MCIPS Chartered, 60 every three years for the CPSM, 36 every three years for the NIGP-CPP.

A worked check. Maria buys for a US county government. She has a two-year college diploma, three and a half years as a buyer at the county and one year before that at a private distributor, all within the last ten years, and 80 hours of procurement training from the last five years. For the CPPB she needs a two-year post-secondary diploma (she has it), three years of experience in the last ten (she has four and a half), at least half of those three years in the public sector (one and a half; she has three and a half), and 72 training hours (she has 80). She is eligible, and pays $450 to apply and $335 for the exam at the standard rate. For the CPPO she would need a bachelor’s degree, five years of experience including three in management, and 96 training hours: not yet.

Certification proves knowledge to an employer; daily practice still comes from the work. The steps that a certification exam tests, from need to payment, are laid out in the procurement process, and the rules a team buys under in what is a procurement policy.

Questions

What is the best procurement certification?

None of the certifying bodies publishes a ranking, and the credentials serve different readers. CIPS qualifications lead to MCIPS and are formally recognised in the UK, ISM’s CPSM covers supply management across industries, and UPPCC and NIGP certify public buyers in North America. The best one is the one your target employers ask for and you are eligible for.

Which procurement certification suits beginners?

CIPS Level 2 and Level 3 certificates are designed for people starting out or in operational roles. ISM’s APSM needs only one exam and no experience. In US public bodies, the CPPB accepts three years of experience with a two-year diploma. Each can lead to a higher credential later.

What does CPP mean in procurement?

CPP usually means Certified Procurement Professional. The best-known credential with that name is the NIGP-CPP, awarded by NIGP: The Institute for Public Procurement to public procurement leaders after two exam modules. Other organisations use similar names, so check which body awards a CPP before relying on it.

How long does a procurement certification take?

It depends on the credential. CIPS suggests about 12 months for the Level 4 Diploma and 12 to 15 months for Level 6. ISM’s three CPSM exams can be spread over four years. UPPCC’s CPPB and CPPO are one exam each, once eligibility is approved. NIGP gives two years to pass its modules.

Do procurement certifications expire?

Most do, unless you renew them. The CPSM lasts three years and needs 60 continuing education hours; the NIGP-CPP needs 36 contact hours every three years; the CPPB and CPPO are renewed every five years. CIPS diplomas do not expire, but MCIPS Chartered status needs 30 hours of CPD each year and membership.

New guides on eProcurement Toolkit

One short email when a guide on this line is added or revised. Nothing else.

Coming soon: sign-up opens with the first email.

Seb Troz

Source-to-pay consultant · written and maintained this guide

Seb Troz is a source-to-pay consultant who implements Ivalua for buying organisations. He writes the guides on eProcurement Toolkit from that hands-on work.

Disclosure: the author works as an Ivalua consultant. Pages that compare software say so next to the comparison.